Photo Booth Hire Dulwich
Our photo booth saved the day last night at Belair House, Dulwich SE21 ! Westbury Chemist’s 30th Anniversary party was let down by another company with just a few hours to go so we came to the rescue. We received a call at 2.40pm and were at the venue (http://belairhouse.co.uk/) in Dulwich, SE London setting up for them at 5pm !
Established in 1785 Belair House is a stunning two-floor Georgian Mansion surrounded by panoramic views of Belair Park that possesses a unique charm, transporting you from the City to the Countryside. Full of wrought iron and standard spiral staircases and a golf course next door. Lots of function rooms and dining tables on balconies overlooking the great view.
Westbury Chemist (www.westburychemist.co.uk) is a chain of chemists that are open 9am to midnight everday, 365 days a year including xmas day ! They had provided lots of food, belly dancers, DJ’s, inflatables, goody bags and more, as well as our photo booth for their suppliers and employees on this special occasion.
A brief history of Belair House:
- 1726–1781: The original estate consisted of two farms.
- 1785–1818: The estate was leased to John Willes, corn factor of Whitechapel, who erected a house in the style of, or possibly by Robert Adam. This house was named College Place. The lake was mentioned by Willes when he first leased the land from Dulwich College, which would indicate that the original boundary of the estate was beyond that point.
- 1818–1859: After John Willes’ death there was a new owner, Charles Ranken, a solicitor, who renamed the house Belair.
- 1859–1893: Charles Hutton, a wool merchant and sheriff for London and Middlesex, purchased the remainder of the lease. It would seem that the majority of structural changes occurred during his ownership. North and South wings, together with conservatories and numerous outbuildings were constructed and added on. Eventually Belair had 47 rooms, which is very much bigger than it is today. He lived there with his wife, their eleven children, and ten live-in servants. However the house fell into disrepair when Hutton’s Berlin wool business started to lose money.
- 1893–1938: Sir Evan Spicer of Spicer’s the paper merchants was granted a lease. In his time the house still had a farm with cows, pigs, chickens, ducks and horses including a grey carthorse called Dobbin. In the coach house by the Gallery Road entrance there was a coach and horses to take Sir Evan and his family across Dulwich Park to Emmanuel Church in Barry Road on Sundays. There is still the original pump outside the coach house, which was used to water the horses. Sir Evan Spicer was the last private owner of the Belair Estate.
- 1938–1946: Belair was sold by auction after Spicer’s death. With the onset of World War II, it again fell into a state of ruin. It was used first as a store, then as premises for the military.
- 1946–1980: Southwark Council purchased the lease. As the main building was in such a poor state it had to be rebuilt from ground level, retaining only the original staircase. These renovations, completed in 1964, restored the house as Willes had built it without the extra wings and conservatories.
- 1980–1995: Still under council ownership, Belair served a similar purpose to that of a village hall. Many people remember the times when they would use the facilities for ballet lessons or as changing rooms. The only maintenance during this time was the painting of the exterior.
- 1996–2002: Gary Cady took over the running of Belair House and oversaw a complete refurbishment of the entire building, turning it into a restaurant and bar.
- 2002–2004: Sam Hajaj took over Belair House for two years until November 2002. No major work was carried out in this period.
- 2004 – 2013 Ibi Issolah became proprietor and took over Belair House, renaming it Beauberry House. Major refurbishment was done creating two new al fresco diners, an outside bar terrace with a 2am licence (Thursday, Friday, Saturday) and an al fresco terrace diner. The 1st floor was made into a private dining room and bar.
- The refurbished house reopened on St Valentine’s Day, 2006.
- 2013 to date: Good friends Alan Dugard and local resident Arron Curtis took the reigns at Beauberry House and restored it back to its original name, Belair House. With extensive interior refurbishment the house has been restored to its Georgian heritage. Belair House now boasts a warm cocktail bar, sumptuous dining room, craft ale house and multipurpose event space.