Photo Booth Hire Denham Grove Denham
Our luxury green screen photo booth was in action at Denham Grove Denham, Bucks last night for the wedding of Mr & Mrs Simpson.
Nestled in the charming rural village of Denham near Uxbridge, Denham Grove is surrounded by 42 acres of beautiful parkland, providing the perfect backdrop for your photographs. The stunning setting and panoramic views, paired with the grand entrance to the modern location, sets the perfect scene for a truly memorable day.
The contemporary Denham Grove Denham overlooks Colne Valley and its delightful picturesque villages, pretty cottages and canals giving a fantastic view to accompany your drinks reception and photos.
Denham Grove Denham has three suites to choose from and each room is licensed to hold civil ceremonies or civil partnerships. The venue can cater for up to 140 dining guests for a seated meal and up to 200 guests for an evening reception. When the big day comes to an end they have 100 en-suite bedrooms available for your guests at special rates. Denham Grove also have some fantastic leisure facilities on-site, including a swimming pool and a sauna.
Denham Grove Denham was formerly known as Durdent Court/ Tile House. The Tile House estate is named on the Jeffery’s county map (1760s), with woodland to the north‐ east and to the south, but no structures depicted. Sheahan (1862) suggested that the name ‘Tile House’ derives from a former “tile manufactory which stood on the spot as far back as three centuries.” It is also possible that the several large holes or ponds on the estate originate as sources of clay for he manufacture of tiles or pottery.
According to Lathbury (1904), Tile House was built in 1800 by Joseph Morten of the Savoy, Denham on the site just north of a farmstead called Cherry Tree Farm. By 1810 three houses stood on the site, with fields surrounding them (OSD, 1810).
After Morten died in 1818, the estate, which then contained two houses, was purchased c.1821 by Andrew Mortimer Drummond, Esq. who demolished one of the two houses and put up a new house alongside the remaining one (Lathbury). Sheahan (1862) however, says that when Drummond purchased the estate in 1821, it consisted of a small house and about 30 acres. Bryant’s county map (1825) shows two houses near the centre of the Tile House estate, one larger than the other. These are directly north of farm buildings on Cherry Tree Farm.
In the 1843 (Denham Tithe Map), the estate was still owned by Andrew Mortimer Drummond, who was a member of the prominent Drummond Bank family. He was married to the painter, Lady Emily Drummond, the sister of Colonel Percy. The Drummond family continued in occupation for most of the C19. Tile House in 1843 was surrounded by a garden plantation, a cottage, extensive gardens, pleasure grounds, extensive grasslands and wood. The house faced east over the pleasure grounds, park land, grasslands and a pond field looking across the Colne Valley.
By 1862 (Sheahan) Tile House was said to be “pleasantly situated about 2 ½ miles north from the village of Denham. The house is chiefly of brick and is a neat residence.” Since Mr Drummond purchased the place (c.1821), when it consisted of “a small house and about 30 acre”, he had ‘since greatly added to the house, and also augmented the estate by several purchases, so that it now consists of 568 acres.” (Sheahan)
By the 1870s (OS) the park and gardens surrounded a substantial house, including a walled kitchen garden adjacent to the farm detached to the west across Tilehouse Lane, from the main entrance to the Tile House. This area was developed separately as Little Haylings in the 1920s (qv). The Sales Particulars from the 1884 Auction catalogue (ASP) described the estate as a freehold residential property, known as “The Tile House”, consisting of 82 acres with offices, gardens, park, arable and wood land, and “placed in a situation of much beauty, being on a sheltered depression of the hills which enclose the valley of the Colne.”
In 1908, Tile House was owned by Captain C E Wyld, who retired from the Coldstream Guards in 1903. Following a fire in the 1950s, Tile House was demolished. The Tile House site was in the late C20 redeveloped as an hotel and facilities for meetings, conferences, training and events called Durdent Court which has since been renamed Denham Grove.